A reorganization meeting of the Kutztown Borough Council was called to order at 7:30 p.m. in the Kutztown Train Station by Mayor James Schlegel, with other members of Borough Council present: Mr. Kevin Snyder, Mr. Edwin Seyler, Ms. Lisa Ladd-Kidder, Mr. George Kusterer and Mr. Frederick Engelhardt. Mr. Derek Mace was absent. Mr. Paul Troisi, Borough Solicitor; Mr. Gabriel Khalife, Borough Manager/Treasurer; Ms. Gina M. Wiand, Borough Secretary/Public Relations and Marketing Director; and resident Dustin Seyler were also present.

Mayor James Schlegel administered the oath of office to Council members Ed Seyler, Lisa Ladd-Kidder, George Kusterer and Fred Engelhardt.

Mayor Schlegel declared the nominations open for the office of President of Council. Mr. Seyler nominated Kevin Snyder for President of Council, seconded by Ms. Ladd-Kidder. Passed by unanimous vote.

Mayor Schlegel turned over the gavel and control of the meeting to Council President Snyder.

President Snyder declared nominations open for the office of Vice President of Council. Mr. Seyler nominated Derek Mace for Vice President of Council, seconded by Mr. Engelhardt. Passed by unanimous vote.

President Snyder declared nominations open for the office of President Pro Tem of Council. Mr. Seyler nominated Lisa Ladd-Kidder for President Pro Tem of Council, seconded by Mr. Engelhardt. Passed by unanimous vote.

A motion was made by Mr. Seyler, seconded by Ms. Ladd-Kidder, Resolved, To appoint Barbara Smith to the Vacancy Board for 2024. Passed by unanimous vote.

12610

President Snyder appointed the following Chairpersons to the standing

committees for 2024 and 2025:

Community Development and Public Safety Committee:

Chairperson: George Kusterer

Members: Derek Mace and Fred Engelhardt

Finance and Electric Committee:

Chairperson: Derek Mace

Members: Kevin Snyder and Ed Seyler

Personnel Committee:

Chairperson: Fred Engelhardt

Members: Kevin Snyder and George Kusterer

Public Works Committee:

Chairperson: Kevin Snyder

Members: Ed Seyler and Lisa Ladd-Kidder

Telecommunications and Information Technologies Committee:

Chairperson: Lisa Ladd-Kidder

Members: George Kusterer and Fred Engelhardt

Water and Wastewater Committee:

Chairperson: Ed Seyler

Members: Derek Mace and Lisa Ladd-Kidder

President Snyder appointed the following ad-hoc committee representatives for

2024 and 2025:

Kutztown Community Library Board

Fred Engelhardt

Kutztown Day Committee

Jim Schlegel

Center for Community Leadership

Jim Schlegel

Berks Municipal Partnership

Jim Schlegel

Environmental Advisory Committee

Lisa Ladd-Kidder

A motion was made by Mr. Seyler, seconded by Mr. Kusterer, Resolved, To appoint the law firm of Barley Snyder, LLC, as the Borough Solicitor for 2024. Passed by unanimous vote.

A motion was made by Mr. Seyler, seconded by Mr. Engelhardt, Resolved, To appoint Herbert, Rowland & Grubic, Inc., as the Borough planning and water/wastewater consulting engineer to provide consulting services as requested and duly authorized.

Passed by unanimous vote.

A motion was made by Mr. Seyler, seconded by Mr. Kusterer, Resolved, To appoint Great Valley Consultants as the Borough transportation consulting engineer to provide consulting services as requested and duly authorized. Passed by unanimous vote.

A motion was made by Mr. Seyler, seconded by Mr. Kusterer, Resolved, To appoint Utility Engineers PC as the Borough electrical consulting engineer to provide consulting services as requested and duly authorized. Passed by unanimous vote.

President Snyder asked if there was anyone who wished to address Council before proceeding with the agenda. There were no public comments.

Under Community Development and Public Safety Committee, a motion was made by Mr. Kusterer, seconded by Ms. Ladd-Kidder, Resolved, To renew the Intermunicipal Agreement with Berks County for the UCC Board of Appeals. Passed by unanimous vote.

A motion was made by Mr. Kusterer, seconded by Mr. Engelhardt, Resolved, To appoint Joan London and the firm of Kozloff Stoudt, as solicitor for the Zoning Hearing Board; Code Appeals Board; Housing License Appeals Board; and the Civil Service Commission for 2024. Passed by unanimous vote.

12612

Under Public Works Committee, there was nothing to report.

Under Personnel Committee, there was nothing to report.

Under Finance and Electric Committee, there was nothing to report.

Under Telecommunications and Information Technologies Committee, there was nothing to report.

Under Water and Wastewater Committee, a motion was made by Mr. Seyler, seconded by Mr. Kusterer, Resolved, To appoint Adam Gruzlewski, of Herbert, Rowland & Grubic, Inc., as the Sewage Enforcement Officer for the Borough for 2024.

Ms. Ladd-Kidder asked why someone new is being appointed, and Mr. Seyler told her that HRG made the change and that we have a copy of his credentials.

Passed by unanimous vote.

Under Miscellaneous, there were no changes to consultant and professional fees, for 2024, so a Resolution was not adopted.

President Snyder noted the following vacancies:

Code Appeals Board: Four Member Vacancies

One Alternate Vacancy

Planning Commission:

Zoning Hearing Board:

Housing License Appeals Board:

Recording Secretary Vacancy

Two Alternate Vacancies

One Member Vacancy

Environmental Advisory Commission

Three Alternate Vacancies
Two Member Vacancies

Telecommunications Advisory Commission: Four Member Vacancies

A motion was made by Mr. Seyler, seconded by Mr. Kusterer, Resolved, To adjourn the reorganization meeting upon vote. Passed by unanimous vote. The meeting ended at 7:49 p.m.

Prepared and Attested by: Gina M. Wiand Borough Secretary